Nashville: A First Timer’s Guide to Music City

Last month, I kicked off 2017 ( and my birthday) with a girl’s trip to Nashville, Tennessee!

It was my first time to the Music City, and I FELL IN LOVE!!! I mean, I knew I would like Nashville, but I didn’t think I would completely fall in love with the city and reminisce about it everyday since I left, LOL!

My friends and I made sure we did as much as we could while in Nashville, and took in everything it had to offer during our short stay. The city is full of friendly people, great food, and live music E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E!

fullsizeoutput_22aa

Where we crashed

While I looked into many amazing Nashville hotels to stay in, I decided to go with renting an apartment through Airbnb. This site is probably not new to y’all, but I love booking through them because it gives me more of a local/non-touristy vibe. Plus, many times it’s a lot cheaper than booking through a hotel! If you’re considering airbnb, I’ll help a brother or a sista out and give you a $40 credit for your first stay!

We stayed in an awesome, historic Midtown apartment just walking distance from The Winner’s and Loser’s Bar and some of the city’s best eats, which I’ll get into a little later. Our host was super informative and even told us Johnny Cash once lived in the building! HOW COOL! Plus, we used Lyft for all our transportation needs and rides were never more than eight to 10 dollars!

Where To Eat

This was was one of my favorite things to do. I mean, I love eating all the time, but the food in this city was just unbelievable!

Best meal I during my stay? Hands down it would have to be Nashville’s speciality, hot chicken! Fried chicken seasoned with cayenne pepper, served on a piece of white bread with pickles, YUM! Seriously, ya’ll…SO GOOD! We got our fix at Hattie B’s Hot Chicken, literally just a five minute walk from our Airbnb. Now, I recommend you get to this place early because there is usually a line out the door just to get in. On the plus side, service is fairly quick so the line is always moving.

img_6061

img_0789

A little fact about me: I’m a big lover of breakfast foods. So naturally, brunch is my favorite meal. Anything that involves breakfast foods and mimosas…I’m sold! One great brunch spot to check out is Biscuit Love, smack dab in the heart of one of Nashville’s coolest neighborhoods, The Gulch. Now if you can’t tell by the name, this restaurant’s menu is focused all around biscuits. CARBS, Y’ALL! Who doesn’t love a good plate of hot biscuits and gravy! Now, I just expressed my newfound love for hot chicken….well, this place combines biscuits AND hot chicken into one dish! GAMECHANGER! We stopped by this place on our way out of Nashville and it put me in a good food coma nap on the plane ride back to Texas. Yeah, I could go on-and-on about this place so just check it out for yourself if you ever get the chance!

fullsizeoutput_22ab

Another great place we checked out was Pinewood Social. This place is perfect for all your brunch-ers out there! Specialty cocktails, coffees, and everything on the menu will probably make you salivate. Just kidding….not really! The coolest part about this place would definitely be the bowling alley in the back of the restaurant! I’d say it’s definitely a great place to take a group of friends for a birthday! Bowling + bubbles + brunch = a good time!

img_5978

Live Music and Cool Bars

Nashville is known for their music scene. Many singer/songwriters move to Nashville to break it in the business, and believe me, half of the people you’ll meet will probably be in the business. The city revolves around the music and that’s what makes this place so lively!

To get the true Nashville experience, you have to check out the bars on Broadway Street, or otherwise known as, “Honky Tonk Row.” There’s live music in just about every bar you peek into! Pick any one and you’re bound to have a good time!

Some personal favorites were The Stage, where the football fangirl totally came out in me when I encountered Tennessee Titans running back and former Dallas Cowboys (HOW BOUT DEM BOYZ) running back, DeMarco Murray! Besides that moment, this place had great live bands playing both nights we stopped by!

Another favorite was Tootsie’s World Famous Orchid Lounge. Like many other bars, this place was several stories, with a separate bar and live band on each floor! We got to hear great local singers sing our favorites while sippin’ on a cold one! Doesn’t get any better than that.

img_6056

As I mentioned before, we stayed right down the street from The Winners and Losers Bars. More great live music and we learned that Monday nights at Winner’s Bar is “Whiskey Jam.” It’s a big live music night where many up-and-coming singer/songwriters come to debut their talent.

Cool Places To See

img_6116

Nashville is home to great country music staples like the Country Music Hall of Fame and The Grand Ole Opry. Both places are chock full of country music history. You’ll get to learn about your favorite country stars like Dolly Parton, Garth Brooks, Blake Shelton, and Carrie Underwood. We took a tour of the Grand Ole Opry House and got to see and stand on the stage where just about every big country star has performed. It was a cool experience!

img_6130

Aside from country music, Nashville also has a great shopping scene. 12 Avenue South is just one of the places we checked out, mostly because of their infamous murals along the shop building walls. You’ll find the infamous “I Believe In Nashville” mural and directly across is the “Draper James Stripes Wall.” Sidenote: Draper James is the store owned by Reese Witherspoon, and it is probably the cutest boutique ever. Take one step in, and you’ll definitely get the “Reese” vibe.

img_6113

The Gulch also has a very cool mural wall to check out. The “What Lifts You” wings is one of the coolest murals I’ve ever seen! The artist, Kelsey Montague, has painted cool wing murals all across the U.S. and the world! Definitely worth stopping by and snapping a pic!

img_6179

For the sports-lovers like me, it was cool to see how many sports team are packed within one city! You get NFL (Tennessee Titans), NHL (Nashville Predators), and college sports (Vanderbilt, Tennessee State, and Belmont University) just miles apart from the other! There’s always a game to watch whenever you’re in town!

My time in Nashville was short, but if you can’t tell, I loved every single minute of it! Can’t wait to plan my next trip back!

Until the next adventure,

A.

Leave a Reply

